Re-Release Announcement: Heather Massey’s DANGEROUS RENDEZVOUS

I received the rights back to my short story DANGEROUS RENDEZVOUS and am re-releasing it! This story was previously published with SilkWords and featured a “choose your own path” structure. I revised DANGEROUS RENDEZVOUS to make it a linear story.

Here’s the blurb:

Rumors of bizarre scientific experiments on planet Bali draws Fortean, Inc. agent Lucia Alvarez to investigate. She’s on a mission to crack the mystery behind Stavanger Corporation’s derelict research facility. But once there, she discovers an even greater danger—the man who once broke her heart.

Derek Pearson was everything Lucia wanted in a man—athletic, genuine, accomplished lover—until the day he inexplicably disappeared from her life. Unable to track him down, she threw herself into her work, desperate to forget she’d ever met him.

Now he’s on Bali and no longer the man she once knew. Can they overcome their fractured bond to join forces and solve the mystery, or will Derek’s dark secret tear them apart?

***

Learn more about this story!

The idea behind DANGEROUS RENDEZVOUS:

As a longtime fan of strange phenomena (like the kind chronicled in Fortean Times magazine), SF stories that explore genetic engineering, the film ALIEN (especially H.R. Giger’s designs), action-adventure stories, and John Carpenter’s THE THING, I basically wanted to mash up all those interests into an entertaining story. A romance involving a pair of reunited lovers provided the perfect framework for the premise, plus it was something new for me to try.

One thing the heroine loves about the hero, and vice versa:

Derek loves Lucia’s take-charge attitude. Lucia loves Derek’s commitment to protecting the ones he loves.

Why DANGEROUS RENDEZVOUS has a sci-fi romance setting:

My goal was to explore themes related to corporate corruption as well as how corporations and their policies frequently endanger people. The science fiction romance setting, with its speculative “What if…” approach, allowed me to explore what might happen if a powerful corporation became involved in devious scientific experiments. Who would be exploited by their efforts? How far would they go to cover up their actions?

The science fiction romance setting also offers a superb opportunity to create a smart, compelling action heroine, so I took it! Superhuman characters with extraordinary talents is another fun concept, so I decided to offer readers a hero with unique abilities.

Sci-fi romance often features couples who are best able to save the day in a position of united strength. When they fall in love along the way, it raises the stakes and allows readers to indulge in the concept of love against all odds.

***

DANGEROUS RENDEZVOUS is available at Smashwords and Amazon. Visit heathermassey.com for more information. Thanks for your interest!

Romantic SF Alert: ACROSS THE REALM by Isobel Mitton

I received a heads up via publisher Blake Moore and Bond regarding author Isobel Mitton‘s ACROSS THE REALM (Across the Realm Series #1). Seems like it might appeal to sci-fi romance/SF romance readers who enjoy forbidden romances, so here’s the cover and blurb!

Set over 600 years in the future, this is the first book in the Across the Realm series! Enter an Earth physically torn between the Northern Hemisphere and the South. Two worlds divided by a boiling sea and on a collision course as ideologies fight for survival in the face of a fate neither side can tackle alone.

Sweeping elegantly between Northern and Southern perspectives, we meet 阿斯卡里 (Askari) Naledi Choto and Colonel Gregory Douglas two people on opposing sides of the war and with whom the bond is instant. Isobel Mitton, seamlessly weaves in filial love, brutality, betrayal, forbidden romance and loyalty in a tale that stands uniquely on it’s [sic] own.

This tale is an exciting and subtle exploration of a reality where segregation and communal living have both become necessities for humanity’s survival and hence have been made to work! It is a tale that shows the truth of the human spirit when faced with adversity.

Isobel Mitton has created epic story stretching across all the continents from Asia to Africa, from America to Europe, with characters that make this book impossible to put down. Follow our heroes, as they navigate a war between two polar civilizations, traversing twists and turns that will leave you wondering “which side you are on?!”

***

Book two in the series, WHEN TWO TRIBES GO TO WAR, will be released on February 6, 2017. Watch the book trailer.

For more information about author Isobel Mitton, visit her Web site and follow her on Twitter: @IsobelMitton

Sci-Fi Romance Alert: Chronicles of Alsea by Fletcher DeLancey

A fellow sci-fi romance reader tipped me off about author Fletcher DeLancey’s THE CAPHENON (Ylva Publishing), an SF book with romantic elements that kicks off her Chronicles of Alsea series. The reader also informed me that book two, WITHOUT A FRONT: THE PRODUCER’S CHALLENGE falls into the sci-fi romance realm and features a lesbian romance!

Here’s the blurb for THE CAPHENON:

On a summer night like any other, an emergency call sounds in the quarters of Andira Tal, Lancer of Alsea. The news is shocking: not only is there other intelligent life in the universe, but it’s landing on the planet right now.

Tal leads the first responding team and ends up rescuing aliens who have a frightening story to tell. They protected Alsea from a terrible fate—but the reprieve is only temporary.

Captain Ekatya Serrado of the Fleet ship Caphenon serves the Protectorate, a confederation of worlds with a common political philosophy. She has just sacrificed her ship to save Alsea, yet political maneuvering may mean she did it all for nothing.

Alsea is now a prize to be bought and sold by galactic forces far more powerful than a tiny backwater planet. But Lancer Tal is not one to accept a fate imposed by aliens, and she’ll do whatever it takes to save her world.

***

Cover and blurb for WITHOUT A FRONT: THE PRODUCER’S CHALLENGE:

When the Voloth invaded Alsea, Lancer Andira Tal thought the hard part would be fighting off a technologically advanced army.

It wasn’t. In the aftermath of war, Alsean society is deeply divided and Tal is facing issues no Lancer has ever dealt with before. How to rebuild, what to do with the Voloth prisoners, when and how to release the new technologies—the pressure is building and Tal is showing cracks, which her enemies are glad to exploit.

The most divisive of the new technologies are the matter printers, desired by some castes and feared by others, especially the producers. When a challenge gives Tal the opportunity to bring the producers to her side, she leaves the capital to work in the fields of Hol-Opah. There she finds an unexpected sanctuary—and the promise of something she has wished for all her life.

But sanctuary and dreams are distractions, and Tal’s inattention may cost her everything.

***

To learn more about author Fletcher DeLancey, visit her Web site and follow her on Twitter: @AlseaAuthor.

She also set up a page where you can immerse yourself in the world of Alsea, including concept art and maps. Happy exploring!

Sci-Fi Romance Alert: STARSTRUCK HOLIDAYS

STARSTRUCK HOLIDAYS (December 2016, After Glows Publishing) is a new m/m sci-fi romance anthology by authors Jennifer Loring, B. Leslie Tirrell, Merryn Dexter, Kerry Adrienne and Lia Davis.

Take a gander at the blurb:

Heat up your holidays with four out of this world, MM sci-fi romance novellas from five bestselling authors.

From Jennifer Loring’s NO ONE ON EARTH ~ Erukkass has located his deceased lover in another dimension and refuses to leave without him. Jon, grieving a devastating loss, turns to the native legend of Handsome Fellow for comfort. When he and Erukkass meet, can they forge a future together, or will two timelines that have always intersected, no matter when or where, finally be forced to diverge?  

From Merryn Dexter’s Conjunction ~ The mystical Conjunction of the moons of Elexon sets two men on a collision course. A pirate and a prince — nothing in common but the attraction burning between them. What starts as a fling soon grows serious, but a relationship built on a foundation of secrets and constructed from lies is no relationship at all.

From B. Leslie Tirrell’s ARIZONA IMPULSE ~ Ambassador Kallell Tezak, the youngest member of the Galaxy Alliance, overhears two of his fellow ambassadors conspiring to take control of the device that protects the galaxy from famine. Kallell knows it is his duty to stop them, but he also wants to enjoy his favorite holiday, Genzebe, and summon the bravery to confess his love for the shy and serious Esten Lazzaro, who happens to be Kallell’s second in command.

From Kerry Adrienne and Lia Davis’s FIRST CONTACT ~ Fugitive Tristan Hawthorne escapes imprisonment only to crash-land on an unidentified, uncharted planet where he faces an alien who stirs passions he thought were long buried. With one working ship and a failing planetary cloaking device, it’s a short time till humans discover Oria and Tristan is recaptured. Under the starry, moonlit sky of the holiday Jainfest, the men learn to overcome their feelings of fear and distrust, and wind up finding out they aren’t so different after all.

STARSTRUCK HOLIDAYS is available at the following venues:

Amazon * Nook * Kobo * iBooks

Happy reading!

New Sci-Fi Romance Alert: Lise MacTague’s VORTEX OF CRIMSON

Squee! The final installment of Lise MacTague’s VORTEX OF CRIMSON (October 2016, Bella Books) is finally out! This trilogy began with DEPTHS OF BLUE and continued in HEIGHTS OF GREEN.

I’ve been a fan of this space opera and survival drama series from the start as you can see here (SFR Galaxy Awards) and here. The On Deception’s Edge stories are a great mix of action-adventure, romance, angst, political intrigue, memorable characters, and social commentary. The series has particular appeal for fans of Linnea Sinclair, Jacqueline Koyanagi, Cathy Pegau, and Nathalie Gray. Well, everyone else should check it out, too! 😀

Here’s the blurb for VORTEX OF CRIMSON:

All Torrin Ivanov wanted was to get Jak Stowell back, that was supposed to be the hard part. In a cruel twist, Jak is hers again, but her girlfriend is literally losing her mind. The only help can be found on the last planet in the universe to which Torrin would like to return…To cure Jak, they must return to her war-ravaged home planet, Haefen.

For Jak, returning to her home planet gives her the chance to make good on a promise too long deferred. But will she be able to finally take out her brother’s killer? Or will she be pulled into the dark undertow of local politics…

The two women soon find that politics pale next to the threat of the one who still hunts Jak. This time he has bait—Torrin’s sister, Nat Ivanov. As their search intensifies, Torrin and Jak realize that despite all of the obstacles in their way, one thing is clear—they can at least depend on each other. But will that be enough?

Vortex of Crimson is the exciting conclusion to author Lise MacTague’s On Deception’s Edge series.

Learn more about Lise MacTague by following her on Twitter: @lisemactague

Sci-Fi Encounters Interviews HATHOR LEGACY Author Deborah A. Bailey

Jaunt over to USA Today’s Happy Ever After blog to read an interview with author Deborah A. Bailey, author of HATHOR LEGACY: REVELATIONS! This series takes place in a future where people have developed psi abilities and Egyptian mythology is woven into the worldbuilding.

She and Sci-Fi Encounters hostess Veronica Scott discuss her work, influences, and fun details about her Hathor series.

And in case you missed it, Deborah A. Bailey wrote a guest post once upon a time for The Galaxy Express titled Love and the Kick-Ass Heroine.

Happy reading!

Powered by WP Tutor.io