Have Some Readers Been Resisting Sci-Fi Romance Because of Its Diverse Content?

Since I began blogging about sci-fi romance in 2008, I’ve speculated about why more readers haven’t flocked to this genre. Why has it never reached the heights of paranormal romance? Why do some readers seem so hesitant to give it a try? Why have traditional print publishers released so few books in the genre?

The reasons behind the low interest in SFR have been discussed on this blog and elsewhere in the SFR community. The main ones include the following: Continue reading “Have Some Readers Been Resisting Sci-Fi Romance Because of Its Diverse Content?”

New Sci-Fi Romance Alert: Lise MacTague’s VORTEX OF CRIMSON

Squee! The final installment of Lise MacTague’s VORTEX OF CRIMSON (October 2016, Bella Books) is finally out! This trilogy began with DEPTHS OF BLUE and continued in HEIGHTS OF GREEN.

I’ve been a fan of this space opera and survival drama series from the start as you can see here (SFR Galaxy Awards) and here. The On Deception’s Edge stories are a great mix of action-adventure, romance, angst, political intrigue, memorable characters, and social commentary. The series has particular appeal for fans of Linnea Sinclair, Jacqueline Koyanagi, Cathy Pegau, and Nathalie Gray. Well, everyone else should check it out, too! 😀

Here’s the blurb for VORTEX OF CRIMSON:

All Torrin Ivanov wanted was to get Jak Stowell back, that was supposed to be the hard part. In a cruel twist, Jak is hers again, but her girlfriend is literally losing her mind. The only help can be found on the last planet in the universe to which Torrin would like to return…To cure Jak, they must return to her war-ravaged home planet, Haefen.

For Jak, returning to her home planet gives her the chance to make good on a promise too long deferred. But will she be able to finally take out her brother’s killer? Or will she be pulled into the dark undertow of local politics…

The two women soon find that politics pale next to the threat of the one who still hunts Jak. This time he has bait—Torrin’s sister, Nat Ivanov. As their search intensifies, Torrin and Jak realize that despite all of the obstacles in their way, one thing is clear—they can at least depend on each other. But will that be enough?

Vortex of Crimson is the exciting conclusion to author Lise MacTague’s On Deception’s Edge series.

Learn more about Lise MacTague by following her on Twitter: @lisemactague

If Only Sci-Fi Romance Books Could Be Shared Visually…

I haz a sad. It’s something I probably shouldn’t be sad about…but I am anyway. My disappointment is that we can’t share visuals from sci-fi romance books.

SadScarletI know—books are their own medium. They’re not movies, TV, or comic books and shouldn’t be compared in that regard. I’m not saying books are lacking because they don’t feature visuals beyond the cover. It’s more that in this age of social media, I’m occasionally sad about the fact that I can’t share screenshots of favorite book moments or make gifs of SFR characters and their signature behaviors/expressions. Sometimes I encounter a cute or memorable scene and think dang, I’d love to go online and share this visually. All that lovely nuance of expression and nonverbal language! Unfortunately, I can’t take the visuals from books that I create in my head and use them to express myself online in fun ways. If I were an artist, that’d be a different story.

Continue reading “If Only Sci-Fi Romance Books Could Be Shared Visually…”

20 Sci-Fi Romances That Should Be Adapted For TV

Outer Places compiled a list of 23 Science Fiction Books Being Adapted into TV Shows. Being an SF fan, I read the list. Unfortunately, only four of the books were written by women. And not only does the list include mostly white, male authors, there are three by John Scalzi and two by Stephen King. That’s not an embarrassment of riches—that’s just embarrassing.

I’m betting perilously few of these shows, if they make it to television, will feature female protagonists. Ladies, don’t you just love getting a big “F-you” from the television industry? Feels even better after, oh, say, the thousandth time.

Continue reading “20 Sci-Fi Romances That Should Be Adapted For TV”